New automated campaign approvals workflow
The user permissions system means you can permit a user to design, build and schedule a campaign and on completion, trigger an approvals process to authorise the send, or reject it with feedback for further revision.
How campaign approval works:
- A user that has been set up to require approval creates a campaign as usual, including choosing address books and scheduling;
- On the campaign summary page, the user will see a ‘ready to send’ button. Clicking on this button will start the approvals process;
- The campaign will be moved to the Outbox and an email will be sent to the account owner, notifying them that a campaign is ready for review with a link to that campaign;
- The account owner reviews the campaign content, settings and contacts and chooses whether to approve the campaign or decline it with a reason;
- If the campaign is approved, it will be sent as scheduled (if the scheduled date is in the past, it will be sent immediately). The original user will be emailed to notify them that the campaign has been approved and sent;
- If the campaign is declined, it will be moved from the Outbox back to the list of unsent campaigns and made available for editing. The original user will be emailed to notify them that the campaign needs more work (including the reason specified by the account owner).
How to set up a user for campaign approval:
Managed users are added by the account owner; once a user has been added, their permissions should be set as follows:
Sender – enable to allow the user to send campaigns
- This should be checked
- Approval – allow user to send a campaign without it being approved by me
- This should be unchecked